RSS Feed

Seasonal activities done differently

I thought for the first entry on seasonal ideas I would just chat a bit rather than give an actual activity with supplies, ideas and standards covered.  I tend to do A LOT of seasonal and holiday fun because I LOVE holidays, they are too fun (If that’s even possible to have something be too fun? ;I’m not sure)!

But I like to think that I take a different approach to holiday ideas rather that the same old “cookie cutter” cut and paste holiday craft.  Depending on the age of the children I like to see what the holiday means to them and share traditions, thoughts, ideas, some history of the topic and what it means to me.  You will be amazed at the answers you will get when you ask a three year old what Valentine’s Day means or what a Leprechaun is and probably get a few laughs in too!  I like to let the children explore ideas and materials that are common to the season or holiday and incorporate standards of learning along the way.

So the next holiday that comes around (it’s sad to think that the next one is Halloween, that’s so far away!) try to think outside the box, rather than just making pumpkin crafts or jack-o-lantern faces, what else can be done and learned from the holiday or skills can
be used when exploring pumpkins?  100_0992
Leave a Reply

